Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of well-respected and highly experienced members of the maritime community. Responsible for providing advice to MXAK's Executive Director, the Board meets annually to review the organization's finances and discuss new initiatives.

Captain Hans Antonsen
Southeast Alaska Pilots Association
Captain Hans H. Antonsen is the President of the Marine Exchange of Alaska’s Board of Directors. A third-generation resident of Ketchikan, he has worked on the waters of Alaska for nearly 45 years and currently an active Marine Pilot for Southeast Alaska He began working on family-owned tugs at the age of 15, got his first captain’s license at 21 and began piloting at age 29. He has been a Marine Pilot in Southeast Alaska for over 30 years and has served as president of Southeast Alaska Pilots’ Association, on the Alaska Board of Marine pilots and as the Chair of the Marine Safety Task Force. He served on the Marine Exchange of Alaska Board of Directors for 15 years prior to be elected to serve as Board President in November 2018. Hans is also a founding Trustee of the William A. Lund Memorial Scholarship Fund which awards over $120,000 per year to candidates pursuing careers in the maritime industry. When he is not working on the water, he and his wife Laura enjoy fishing on HER BOAT, a 28’ Kingfisher.
Captain Mike O'Hara
Southwest Alaska Pilots' Association
Captain Lawson Brigham
University of Alaska
Don Reid
Alaska Marine Lines
Judge Peter Froelich
Member at Large
Captain Vic Scheibert
Trident Seafoods
Harold Whittlesy
Satellite Technical Services
Bal Dreyfus

Matson Inc.

Captain Dan Blanchard
UnCruise Adventures
Captain Rick Olson
Olson Marine
Bryan Hawkins
Port of Homer